Brunston Castle, Ayrshire
~ History ~
1534 ~ James Kennedy, as Bailie of Carrick and the younger brother of William Kennedy, Abbot of Crossraguel, is the owner of Brunston Castle. His father served as a Privy Counseillor to King James IV and like other local Lairds, was killed in the Battle of Floddan fighting the English.
1620 ~ A three storey T-plan tower house is built by the Kennedys.
'Black Bessie' Kennedy continued to live in the castle after the death of her third husband, William Baillie of Carrick. Her Kennedy relations quarrel amongst themselves over the possession of Bessie and her lands, which ends in family murder.
Main Street / Golf course Road
Brunston Castle was built on a mound overlooking the river which protected it on one side. The three other sides were protected by a moat.
Today the castle sits on the edge of a golf course but can be accessed from the small town by a lovely walk along a river walk path from a car park. Although very ruinous it still provides an interesting site to explore after a short enjoyable walk.